The hair salon of the future in the national final of L’Oréal Brandstorm

The L’Oréal Group has been running Brandstorm for 26 years, a game of strategy and business management for final-year students in higher education, which has already had more than 154,000 participants from 60 countries. In Portugal this initiative has been running for 14 editions and this year it approached L’Oréal Portugal’s Professional Products Division, introducing youngsters to the challenge of reinventing a professional salon designed with the experience of the future.


For Gonçalo Nascimento, General Director of the Division of Professional Products in Portugal, the biggest challenge will be “to modernize the professional beauty market.With our business partners, we must inspire them to shape the future of this market.We want to lead innovation, recruit and retain new customers, develop our customers’ businesses and scan our industry. ”
The national final of L’Oréal Brandstorm took place on April 11 at the L’Oréal Portugal facility in Miraflores, with the participation of 11 finalist student teams from the partner universities: Catholic University, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Instituto Superior de Ciências Labor and Enterprise (ISCTE) and Faculty of Economics of Porto (FEP).

The victory was attributed to the team Hair We Are, from Nova SBE – School of Business & Economics, consisting of Joana Marchão, Ilaria Vazzoler and Sabrina Giovisi. This team introduced the Pixel Experience, which reinvents the experience in the hall with the millennials, in four steps.
The jury of the Portuguese final was constituted by: Cátia Martins, CEO of L’Oréal Portugal; Gonçalo Nascimento, General Director of the Division of Professional Products; Mónica Serrano, CMO L’Oréal Portugal; Patrícia Piloto, General Director of the Lúcia Piloto Group; and Maria João Vieira Pinto, Editorial Director of Marketeer.
The international final will take place in Paris on May 17, where the finalists of the various countries will defend their proposal before the international jury.